FAQ

We have spent quite a long time perfecting the rule system. In the process we have gotten quite a few questions from our players. This is the summary of those questions, keeping in mind that only relevant items remain here. We have also tried to make the rulebook in such a fashion that the FAQ should remain short(ish). But to hone it to perfection we need your help – send us feedback where we could still make the rules more clear.

(updated Jan 1, 2017)

Miniatures

 

Q: A miniature I got has a bent bit. What can I do?

A: Some of the miniatures are made of a resin material that can get bent out of shape in certain steps of the manufacturing process. Resin miniatures can be identified by their slightly lighter natural gray color, and include Neshilim, Aisha, Mogba’gh, and the lever minis.

Since resin is less flexible at room temperature, it must be warmed up before bending back into shape or it may break. Warm the piece in 50c (122F) temperature water for several minutes then very gently bend it back into the desired shape. Please be careful and don’t burn yourself!

Hero Cards and Abilities

 

Q: When the rules say I can draw a hero card, can I draw from any hero deck?

A: Players may only draw from their own deck.

Q: When exactly can I play hero cards with numbers on them to gain @AP@?

A: Whenever you are able to spend @AP@ on an action, you are allowed to play numeric Move @move@ cards to gain @AP@, as long as you haven’t yet drawn a response card for that action.

 

Q: Can I draw a card from my hero deck even if I am at my hand size limit?

A: Yes, although you’ll have to immediately discard any cards you draw if you are already at your limit. This includes wound cards already in your hero deck, which could lead to a useful strategy, if you don’t mind spending a draw.

Q: When I take a wound card is it considered a draw?

A: No, when you take damage and have to also take a wound card, the wound is placed directly on top of your hero deck. This is not considered “drawing” a card.

Q: Are heroes able to aid each other if there are one or more monsters between them?

A: Yes. Each square in between decreases the effectivity of the aiding, regardless of what might be in between.

Q: Can Olazabal use his “Explosive Device” hero card in order to get a chest or door open?

A: Yes. Whether that’s advisable is another question, altogether.

Q: With Neshilim’s “Active Defense” hero card, what happens if LoS to other heroes changes during the monsters’ turn?

A: If a monster moves to block LOS to a hero, that hero no longer benefits from Active Defense. Always use the current LOS when determining an effect — that is the rule of thumb for all effects.

Combat

 

Q: If the target of the area attack is a large monster, what is the center of the attack?

A: The square closest to the attacker.

Q: Are my Defend tokens “used up” as they provide defense against attacks?

A: No, they are not discarded until the start of your turn. If you have 3 tokens, then you get +3 Defense from each and every attack against you, as long as you have them.

 

Q: Can I spend @AP@ to gain Defend tokens at any time while I’m on the Defend spoke?

A: No. You can only gain Defend tokens on your turn when you stop on the Defend spoke.

Q: When Bashing a target 2 squares away with a reach weapon, and the target is in a square “1 over and 2 up” from the attacker (think how a knight moves in chess), what direction does the enemy get pushed, and what direction do you follow?

A: Both moves are 1 square diagonally in the general direction of the attack.

Q: What happens when a Hero or an enemy is pushed off of the map?

A: Draw a response card whenever a miniature (Hero or enemy) is pushed outside of the map edge, to check what they may have encountered beyond the map. If they drew an eye icon, they were unlucky and they lose one hit point (Heroes gain a wound because of this). Then put the miniatures on the side of the map, at the place where they were pushed.

In the case of enemies, they’ll come back from that spot on next Primary Spawn action. Heroes can return on their next turn, but until then they cannot aid or draw LoS from or to the map, etc, the same as at the beginning of a scenario before they come onto the map..

Q: Does the special terrain “concealment” block or affect area of effect attacks?

A: No.

Q: Do enemies lose any Hit Points if their attack on a hero fails?

A: No, they don’t.

 

Q: Can enemies attack during the heroes’ turn if a Hero moves into the enemy’s attack range?

A: No. Monsters only attack during their turn, when the pawn on the Enemy Watchstone enters an Attack action spoke.

Q: When a hero uses a Bash action and pushes a monster into another monster, or into a hero, what happens?

A: Nothing. The monster stays in place, and takes no extra damage.

 

Q: When aiding a multi-enemy attack, who decides if the aid goes to the whole attack or a single enemy?

A: The player whose turn it is decides.

 

Q: Is range a minimum, a maximum, or both?

A: Range is a maximum unless otherwise stated. So when something lists “range 2” it means “up to a range of 2”. But if it says “at range 2” it means exactly at that range.

Q: What range is a square from itself?

A: A square is range 0 from itself. So if a hero has a spell with range 1 then the hero could cast the spell on themselves.

 

Stone of Destiny

 

Q: Players may take their turns in any order – does this mean you have to choose a player order at the beginning of each round?

A: No – player order is meant to be fluid. At the start of each round choose one player to take their turn. When their turn is done, choose another player to go next. Once each player has had a turn, move on to the Enemy Phase.

 

Q: When on the Charge spoke, can I move 0 spaces and then attack someone adjacent to me?

A: When you take the Charge action, you may skip the move and still attack, or you may “move” 0 spaces, whichever you prefer. You could also move and skip the attack. Remember that you may never change the order of actions, as read in the spoke from left to right.

Q: When trying to break a lock, can I play more numeric cards to boost my result once I see the two response cards?

A: This attempt works like an attack against an enemy, so you cannot play additional cards after you draw the response cards.

Q: Why are some of the icons on the Stone of Destiny circled?

A: Circled action icons on the Stone cost double @AP@ to use.

Q: When using the Special spoke’s actions, are points I get from numeric move cards I play for additional movement also subject to the 2:1 ratio, just like leftover Action Points?

A: Yes, the number on a move card is effectively converted into Action Points, which can be spent at 2:1 for movement.

Q: Can you give another example of movement on the Special spoke?

A: Sure! Let’s say that after moving to the Special spoke you have 3 Action Points left. You use your Special ability and play a Special hero card, then you play a numeric Move 1 card. You now have 4 Action Points, which you could spend (at 2:1) to move out of a threatened square, or to move one square and pull a lever. During a normal move action either of these choices would cost 1 Action Points. But since the Move icon on the Special spoke is circled, Action Point costs are all doubled to 2 AP/action, so with 4 AP you could just do both.

 

Movement

 

Q: Why do treasure chests and levers block movement?

A: Generally speaking, the “treasure chests” you find in these scenarios are not small wooden crates, and the levers are not simply a rod poking out ot the wall. Treasure tends to be secured in large items, from sarcophagi to big shipping crates.

Similarly, the levers you’ll encounter are not small mechanical switches, but rather bulky magical devices, powered by mystical energies that have been bound to a portcullis, a door, or anything else the cultists have decided to use it for.

Both can be moved, with some effort, but not easily hopped over or scurried around while cultists assault you.

Q: Does it cost action points to use a treasure or give it to another hero?

A: No, but you may only give a treasure to an adjacent hero.

Q: Do enemies move in a particular order?

A: Yes, you can find details in the rulebook under Enemy movement.

Q: Can Insectoids open doors?

A: No, but Cultists can.

Q: Can a Hero be on top of a Treasure or Lever?

A: No. Figures (Hero or enemy) cannot share a space with chests or levers. Once a treasure is unlocked the treasure token/miniature is removed and the square is vacated. Then any Hero or enemy can move into the space. Lever miniatures are not removed from the map when used.

Q: Does a warp stone block movement into a square?

A: No, it acts as a feature of the square, like a trapdoor.

Q: What happens when an acolyte is on top of the warp stone?

A: No insectoid can reach it as long as he’s there. Too bad for Insectoids!

 

Q: The rules talk about “Large” enemies, but doesn’t define the term. What makes an enemy “Large”?

A: An enemy is “Large” if its base takes up at least two spaces on the board. With the base game this includes Chi’leen, the Tharnix, and the Demon.

 

Q: Follow up question – how does this compare to the rules about the order of enemy sizes under move and attack priorities, which is referred to as “Smallest to Largest”?

A: Movement and attack priority goes in relative size order (within the fiction), from “smallest” to “largest”, which is how the enemies are listed on the reference sheets, from top to bottom. So the Rotikka always moves and attacks first, followed by the Boneworm, Chi’leen, Tharnix, Acolyte, Guard, Summoner, Dread Monk, and Demon.

 

Q: Can you clarify the terrain movement penalty rule? Is the penalty an additional cost to enter special terrain?

A: The word “penalty” isn’t intended to mean these costs are in addition to the normal 1 point cost to enter a square, but rather the numbers listed on P.20 of the rulebook replace the normal movement cost. So it costs 2 movement points to enter Uneven terrain, not 3.

 

Q: So the above also applies to the cultist movement penalty chart on P26?

A: Yes, the small chart in the sidebar just duplicates the information on page 20, which lists the total cost in movement points to enter special terrain, which also affects cultists. They just have an additional rule for moving into special terrain, as outlined in that same sidebar.  

 

LoS (Line of Sight)

 

Q: Does the special terrain “concealment” prevent LoS into or out of the square, or only through the square?

A: LoS is only traced “through” a square, not into or out of. This is why adjacent figures can always attack one another without worrying about LoS.

Q: How can LoS be blocked by a figure that you don’t have LoS to?

A: Since LoS is drawn from the center of each square, and a figure effectively takes up an entire square for purposes of LoS, then your LoS could indeed be blocked by a figure that itself is in a square you don’t have LoS to.

The LoS rules are somewhat simplified for ease and speed of play, so you don’t have to try and figure out how much actual physical space individual figures are taking up and blocking, etc.

 

Q: Can you trace LoS through two blocked squares that touch each other at one corner if there aren’t any other blocked squares in the way? For example two figures standing diagonally adjacent.

A: No, even though the two squares appear to share a corner, this would count as “two corners of blocked squares” as described on p22 of the rules.

 

First Turn

 

Q: On the first turn, the rules state that I cannot play cards or use actions other than to move onto the map. Does that mean I can play cards and use actions that would give me Action Points or otherwise help move onto the map?

A: Yes, you may play such cards for this purpose, either to gain AP or to directly facilitate movement onto the map (e.g. Simma’s “Squeeze” card).

Q: Can I use the Aimed Shot spoke as my first action to move onto the map?

A: Yes. Although you’ll probably be stuck on the entrance square then, preventing anyone behind you from getting on the map.

Q: What about Elisa? Can she use the Special spoke to teleport onto the map as her first action?

A: Yes, she can use her special ability Blink during her first action and teleport onto the board. In such case, count the entrance as the first square of the movement.

Spawning Enemies

 

Q: Do players choose which enemies will spawn, and where?

A: Yes, as long as enemies are placed according to the placement rules and the number of enemies indicated by the threat level are spawned.

Q: …but how can it be challenging if players choose which enemies to spawn?

A: The spawn pools are limited and players must choose from the remaining available enemies. If you start with spawning only weak enemies, you might end up having all the tougher enemies in one go. That will probably not go well for the heroes.

Q: Can the spawn pools run empty?

A: Yes, they can.This is one way to complete some scenarios. Destroying nests can also stop Insectoids from spawning.

 

Q: If the Set Up section of a scenario doesn’t mention a starting location for an enemy, where does it start?

A: Any enemies listed without a starting location are placed at the players’ discretion using the normal spawn rules.

 

Q: What if a scenario calls for enemies in the reserve pool but there aren’t enough miniatures to meet the listed setup (e.g. Scenario 3a)?

A: In such a case the first enemies killed that meet the criteria are put into the reserve pool as they are defeated. For example, in the setup for scenario 3a all 5 Chi’leen miniatures start on the board, but it also lists 2 in reserve. Therefore, the first two Chi’leen the players defeat are put into the reserve pool to be potentially spawned later.

 

Death

 

Q: Can we loot or resurrect a hero that dies from infestation?

A: No, the transformation to insectoid is so horrible that no corpse remains.